

Press release – For immediate release 05.07.2018

## Frank O'Connell elected to lead ETRC as new Managing Board takes shape

The Board of ETRC has elected Frank O'Connell as the new President of ETRC, following Sarah Branquinho's decision to step back from the role after 6 years of dedicated service and leadership to the industry and 15 years of membership of the ETRC Board.

Frank O'Connell is an experienced veteran of the DFTR industry, having served both on the ETRC Board as well as President of ETRC for many years.

Frank is also the President of the Duty Free World Council (DFWC), bringing with him a global perspective of the DFTR industry.

Frank thanked Sarah Branquinho for her dedication to the industry in her role as President of ETRC, stating: "Sarah's stewardship of the European Travel Retail Confederation was exemplary, steering the industry's European representation during challenging times. I am delighted to announce that she will continue to work with the ETRC board on Brexit. Sarah's knowledge of what drives the DFTR industry is unparalleled and we are fortunate to be able to continue benefiting from her experience and guidance.

The ETRC Board has changed significantly in recent years with new members coming in. I am delighted that they have asked me to serve a year as President in order to allow for an effective transition to the new generation of ETRC leadership."

Speaking of the future, Frank O'Connell stated: "We will be building on the work done under Sarah Branquinho's leadership to minimise the potential negative impacts and maximise the opportunities from a changing landscape for the industry across Europe and beyond. That is our mission on behalf of the industry."

Sarah Branquinho said "It has been a huge privilege to serve the industry as ETRC's President for the last 6 years, and I would like to thank the Managing Board, Supervisory Board, corporate members, staff and the wider advocacy team for their support. I would also like to pay tribute to Dufry for making it possible for me to commit so much time to this role. We have dealt with some major issues during my tenure, and I know that ETRC will be in safe hands with Frank and the up and coming 'new guard'".

The following are members of the ETRC Managing Board;

Frank O'Connell, President, ETRC
Erik Juul Mortensen, President, TFWA
Fulvio Fassone, President, ATRI
Jacques Parson, President, BTRA
Francois Bourienne, President, UKTRF
Nigel Keal, Global Commercial Director, Dufry
Inken Callsen, Director Fulfillment, Gebr. Heinemann

**ENDS** 



Note to the editor: For more information, please contact

ETRC Keith Spinks Secretary General Tel: +34 (0) 932 051 276

Mob: +34 (0) 687 529 528 Email: keith.spinks@etrc.org

## About the European Travel Retail Confederation

The European Travel Retail Confederation (ETRC) is an industry association for the duty free and travel retail industry in Europe, serving the industry and its members to help create the right environment to allow the industry to achieve its potential and protect it when challenges arise.

ETRC is composed of national and regional affiliated trade associations representing over 200 European companies, Tax Free World Association (TFWA) representing 500 brand companies, and direct corporate membership from individual companies working in the duty free and travel retail trade across Europe and beyond. The European Travel Retail Confederation's operations are directed by its Supervisory and Managing Boards and carried out by a full-time secretariat. For more information about the organisation, please see our website — <a href="https://www.etrc.org">www.etrc.org</a>